Houghton School, Main Street, Houghton on the Hill, LE7 9GD

0116 2412 465


Houghton on the Hill C of E Primary School

"My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you." John 15:12

Welcome to the Governors' page on the
Houghton on the Hill Primary School website

School Governors are drawn from different parts of the community and some are by elected by parents or staff. This helps ensure the Governing Body has sufficient diversity of views and experience but does not mean Governors of a particular category represent that group on the Governing Body. For example, Parent Governors do not represent the parents at the school and do not report back to them.

Read more about the work of the governing body by clicking HERE.


The Governing Body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational welfare and achievement. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:

1.  Agreeing the school improvement plan with the head teacher

2.  Setting and reviewing targets for pupil achievement

3.  Ensuring targets and policies are met and implemented

4.  Planning how the school’s budget will be allocated

5.  Making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based

6.  Appointing senior staff

7.  Reviewing the head teacher’s performance and pay


Who are our Governors?

  • Roger Bettles is our Vice-Chair of Governors, is a foundation governor, and a member of the Personnel & Finance Committee
  • Tim Dolan is a parent governor and Vice-Chair of the Curriculum & Learning Committee; Mathematics champion
  • Patricia Ford is a co-opted governor and Chair of the Safeguarding Committee; I.T./e-safety/GDPR  champion  
  • Ann Foster is a staff governor and sits on the Safeguarding Committee 
  • Harriet Hurdley-Lees is a co-opted governor, and a member of the Curriculum & Learning Committee
  • Anjum Matharu is a co-opted governor and a member of the Safeguarding Committee
  • Sarah Moore is a co-opted governor, Chair of the Curriculum & Learning Committee and is the English Champion
  • Elizabeth Morrison is a parent governor and member of the Safeguarding Committee
  • Mark Newman is a co-opted governor, Chair of Governors, and Chair of the Personnel & Finance Committee
  • Melanie Pickford is a staff (teaching) governor, and a member of the Curriculum & Learning Committee 
  • Revd Steve Ransley is a foundation governor and a member of the Personnel & Finance Committee; Sports Premium/PE governor
  • Ali Woollerson, Headteacher, ex officio governor, sits on all the main committees

     All governors serve a term of office of four years unless otherwise stated


Clerk to the Governors: Rebecca Miles


Types of Governor

Parent governors: elected by parents (or appointed if insufficient people stand for election) and drawn from parents and carers of children at the school.

Staff governors: elected by teaching and support staff paid to work at the school.

Foundation governors: appointed by the school's founding body, the Leicester Diocesan Board of Education.

Co-opted governors: appointed by the governing body if they have, in the opinion of the governing body, the skills to contribute to the effectiveness of governance and the success of the school.


Governors whose appointment ended in the last 12 months:

Chloe Shipley (Parent Governor) retired April 2024

Helen Brown  (Foundation Governor) retired February 2024

Jodie Wilson   (Co-opted Governor) retired November 2023

Becky Pickard (Co-opted Governor) retired July 2023

Sue Swann      (Co-opted Governor) retired June 2023


You can contact any of the Governors via the school office with comments or concerns relating to the school at any time.

We value your feedback.

Mark Newman
Mark Newman
Roger Bettles
Roger Bettles
Patricia Ford
Patricia Ford
Ann Foster
Ann Foster
Harriet Hurdley-Lees
Harriet Hurdley-Lees
Anjum Matharu
Anjum Matharu
Sarah Moore
Sarah Moore
Revd Steve Ransley
Revd Steve Ransley